Your big beautiful beefy bulwark of badass.

Unfortunate fashion accidents


I thought I was really rolling when I got Beltar into an ICC 10-man raid last week and got a Taldron’s Short-Sighted Helm, which uses the same model as the T10 helms for hunters.  For some reason (I don’t even remember why, there was number-crunching involved, I guess), I got him the helmet, gemmed it, and enchanted it.  Then, happy to ditch his old T9 helm which I never really liked the looks of, I put it on…

…that’s right.  My dwarf now has a giant saronite Mr. Happy growing out of his forehead.  I mean, yeah, he’s a dickhead sometimes, but damn, Blizzard, did you have to be that literal?

And if that wasn’t bad enough…over the weekend, my shaman Sakula finally got exalted with the Wyrmrest Accord while failing his way through heroic Oculus.  That left him just one of the “big four” Northrend factions he needed rep with, the Kirin Tor.  So I changed his tabard and finished the heroic run.  Then I took a good look at what a Kirin Tor tabard looks like on a male troll…and /facepalmed.

Clearly, Rhonin felt the need to overcompensate for something, if you know what I mean (and I think you do).

15 responses

  1. The horn is unfortunate, especially on a dwarf. It DOES have a reason though – it’s designed off of Anub’Arak’s horn: http://wow.4fansites.de/wotlk/bilder/dungeons/azjol_nerub/anubarak.jpg

    Still looks silly though.

    And the troll tabard…wow. Just, wow. No justification for that.

    August 9, 2010 at 17:30

    • Oh, yeah, it’s definitely a nerubian horn, no doubt about that. But on a dwarf, the proportions and shape and shading are just…yeeeeeah. I called my wife over to show her after I got it and she just about keeled over laughing, so at least I’m not the only person who took one look at it and had their mind hit the gutter.

      August 9, 2010 at 17:48

  2. Phallic tabards are everywhere, unfortunately. I was votekicked from a heroic for wearing the Kirin Tor tabard once.

    August 9, 2010 at 17:47

  3. Note to self: Rhonin is a bit touchy about being teased by his buddies about marrying that Windrunner girl.

    August 9, 2010 at 18:06

  4. Another great tabard, with similar characteristics is the Ebon Blade tabard, if you are more inclined that way. :D

    I did a post a while back about what the new T10 set pieces were meant to look like (in comparison to lore figures, etc.), and though the Hunter set does portray the source material well…. it can have some proportional issues.

    August 10, 2010 at 11:01

  5. I feel obligated to link this: It was originally posted to show the erm… unfortunate effect exactly as you had mentioned – but then music was added! And then it was awesome: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yUGqLyKsxjw

    August 10, 2010 at 19:29

    • That may not be the greatest thing I’ve ever seen, but it’s in the top 20 or 25.

      August 12, 2010 at 14:09

  6. Hammaryn

    Rhino helm is happy to see you, Lin.

    August 12, 2010 at 13:49

    • Do not taunt Happy Fun Happy.

      August 12, 2010 at 14:08

  7. The Loremaster tabard looks equally unfortunate on a female undead. Start with short proportions, move on to breasts that have no reason to be there, now hunch the character over so that the top of the exclamation point looks larger, the body looks thinner, and the distance between the dot and the body is shortened….

    When this was noticed on my husband’s rogue with his recent proud acquisition, it took a few minutes to restore order to the raid.

    August 12, 2010 at 17:57

  8. Sanderth

    …I have worn that tabard several times and never noticed that. Now I’ll never be able to stop laughing and/or cringing every time I put it on. Curse you all.

    August 13, 2010 at 22:11

  9. That. Is. Fantastic. I’ll never look at the Kirin Tor the same way again.

    August 15, 2010 at 21:32

  10. Haha. I hadn’t looked that closely at the helm, but the tabard we had definitely noticed. My husband flat-out refused to wear it to finish his Kirin Tor rep (he later succumbed and used to sneak it on mid-heroic) but needless to say, on a male Draenei it’s equally…prominent.

    August 15, 2010 at 22:02

  11. Pingback: Links! Poetry contest! Links! // Obeying the Muse

  12. Tam

    Oh my God, I always suspeected the Kirin Tor were dodgy…

    August 23, 2010 at 10:09

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 44 other followers