Your big beautiful beefy bulwark of badass.

How to spice up a boring heroic run…


…have a small child (my daughter, aka Nublet, aka The World’s Cutest Four-Year-Old) watching over your shoulder as you run Azjol-Nerub on your hunter.  And then have her firing questions at you non-stop while you’re trying to work a marks hunter rotation that you’re rusty on from lack of play.

“Are those bugs?”

“Yes, honey, they’re bugs.”

“Are they mean bugs?”

“Yes, honey, they’re mean bugs and they’re trying to eat us.”

“They look like spiders.”

“They are sort of like spiders, yes.”

“Why’s that one got an arrow over his head?”

“I put it there so we know which bug to kill first.”

“Spiders eat icky bugs.”

“Mm-hmm.”

“Look!  That bug has little wings!”

“Yes, yes he does.”

“Is that wolf made out of ice?”

“No, honey, he’s just a white fluffy wolf.”

“He looks like he’s made out of ice.”

He’s not, love, he’s just a big white wolf that follows my guy around.”

“Does he bite bugs?”

“Yes, sweetie, he bites bugs.”

“Hey, a bridge made of ice!”

“That’s not ice, that’s spiderweb.”

“But why aren’t you getting stuck?”

“I don’t know, love, that’s just the way the game works.”

“That’s a biiiiig spider.”

“Mm-hmm.  And now he’s a big dead spider, see?”

“Eww, you fell in an icky river!  Are you going to step on the little bugs?”

“No, sweetie, I’m just going to leave those alone.”

“Why?  Shouldn’t you step on the little bugs?”

“No, hon, not enough time.  See, there’s the big boss bug.”

“Where?”

“There.”

“Oh, yeah.  Hey, he’s gone in his hole.”

“Yeah, he does that, and he sends little bugs out to try and eat us.”

“I think he’s got a secret tunnel.”

“Mm-hmm.”  (at this point I’m frantically trying to dodge darters)

“Look, no more boss bug!”

“Yep.”

“Are you going to go back and squish the little bugs now?”

“No, sweetie, we’re done.”

“Are you flying away on your dragon now?”

“Mm-hmm.”

“OK.  I’m gonna go draw fairies now.”


9 responses

  1. Chibikeni

    A little innocence from a kid can make a gamer smile inside. :)

    /hug Nublet

    August 8, 2010 at 09:57

  2. Bricu

    Best wow post I’ve read all year

    August 8, 2010 at 10:04

  3. Reading that was a great start to my morning :)

    August 8, 2010 at 12:54

  4. Moravec

    Awesome post, thanks for the chuckles

    August 8, 2010 at 17:01

  5. Oh man. Your daughter is just so awesome. That post made me grin like a little kid. I can just hear that whole convo going on in my head. :D

    August 8, 2010 at 17:33

  6. Aww bless, this totally reminds me of my (now 5yr old) son! :)

    August 9, 2010 at 08:45

  7. Mia

    My son is only two years old right now, and loves to run around in Dalaran with my husband’s and my toons. I cannot wait till he’s older so he can ask me questions like these about the game ^_^

    August 9, 2010 at 12:06

  8. Oh, Nublet! *cuddles* I could hear the whole thing – she sounded like my god-daughter, who I will dub Kitten. ^.^ Who asks questions like that ALL THE TIME. Not of WoW, just of… the world.

    I actually fear what questions I would get asked if Kitten ever watched me play WoW…

    August 9, 2010 at 13:48

  9. That’s awesome.

    My son (2 years old) loves to have me sit in the middle of Dalaran and go through all of my mounts, making the noises for each of the different animals.. then when we’re done there, go through all 60 something pets I have, haha.

    August 9, 2010 at 14:49

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 44 other followers