Your big beautiful beefy bulwark of badass.

You wouldn’t like him when he’s angry


Ho. Ho. Ho. Happy Winterveil.

Yes, that’s right.  The cheery, festive, and heavily armed Panzercow you see above you, resplendent in his Red Winter Hat (thank you, Grand Magus Telestra), has switched his DPS offspec from Arms to Fury.  (And no, this does not make me a fury furry.)

Why?  Well, frankly, because I wanted to, and because my raid was OK with it even though we already bring a Fury warrior who’s much better-geared and much better at it.  As I’ve written before, I never really wanted Linedan to be a tank.  I’d just gotten done playing a warrior tank in Everquest for the better part of four years, and, quite frankly, I wanted to own some face.  It wasn’t until Karazhan that I ended up having to spec him Protection full-time.  For a while in vanilla, he was an odd build, a two-hand Fury/Prot hybrid (5/31/15) that was supposed to be a good DPS/offtank build.  But, he never had the gear to make it really work.

When I was fortunate enough to pick up the two nice weapons in the picture above–the Dual-Blade Butcher from ToC-25 and the Keen Obsidian Edged Blade from Onyxia-10–I figured it was time to give Fury another try after years away.  And so far, I’m having quite a lot of fun at it.  (The Keen OEB is particularly special to me…when Lin was first running Molten Core with the Anvil back in the day, all I wanted to get him was an Obsidian Edged Blade, because it looked cool and would’ve been a significant upgrade.  Between DKP and poor luck on drops, it took him four freaking months to finally get one…and it’s still in my bank to this day.)

I’ve been running more heroics as DPS than tank on Lin, to get practice (and because I don’t always want to deal with tanking for a PUG).  Fury has a reasonably simple rotation, and doesn’t have all of the waiting-for-Godot that Arms does.  The downside is, well, it’ll get you killed.  A lot.  Considering that your primary attack is Whirlwind, which hits five targets for the damage of both your weapons?  And that your burst damage with a lot of rage can be ridiculously high, with you in melee range and thus not having that extra 20% threat buffer?  Hellooooo, agro.  Like a lot of DPS specs, you can go balls-out and e-peen some pretty impressive numbers on the meters without a lot of skill, you just need the gear.  The skill comes in knowing when not to mash the pedal to the floor…when to hold off a second on a Whirlwind or when to use something else.  You know, when to not be That Guy who’s pulling agro and pissing off the tank, stressing the healer, and getting yourself deaded.  Because Fury warriors have no agro dump except the Sprawl of Shame.

How impressive are the numbers?  Well, not very–remember, I’m still learning it.  But with a mish-mash of Ulduar- and ToC-level gear, mostly ilevels between 219 and 245, I can push well over 3000 in heroics and get near 4000 in raids (much more on trash, where Whirlwind + glyphed Cleave really pads numbers).  I know I can do better, I’m still working on it.  But it’s better than Arms, and it’s enough that on nights where I am not in the Anvil’s tank rotation, I can contribute without being totally humiliated.

I love tanking.  I never want to give up being Prot at this point (Ghostcrawler notwithstanding…but that’s a rant for another time).  But occasionally, it just feels good to pick up two gigantic weapons and just destroy everything in your path.  Cow smash!

7 responses

  1. Awww, how cute, the moocow wants to make steak of himself! >.>

    <3

    January 12, 2010 at 11:38

  2. I have know, for quiet a long time, that an angry Panzercow is a dangerous thing.

    Linedan Charges by *JRinaldi on deviantART

    January 12, 2010 at 11:54

  3. Figworth

    So, question. What do you gem for? Our resident fury warrior queen says she won’t gem strength unless everything else is capped. Coming from a Death Knight standpoint, this sounds to me like complete bullhonkey, but I don’t play the class, so I’m probably wrong. How do you gem?

    January 12, 2010 at 11:55

    • Honestly? I’m not sure. I’m sticking with straight +strength except where I need to activate a meta, I figure it’s hard to go wrong with more AP. Right now, Lin is way over hit cap (about 370 rating), but it’s coincidental because of his gear, and not due to me gemming for it–plus, since he’s dual-wielding, that extra +hit isn’t completely wasted. He’s short on expertise (18, needs 26) but as of yet I’m not gemming for it.

      January 12, 2010 at 12:37

  4. Greysmoke

    With my Fury warrior, I usually end up the first few seconds of a pull putting up Battle Shout and Demoralizing Shout and by the time I’m ready to start Whirlwinding away, the tank’s hopefully had enough time to get aggro on the pack.

    Hopefully.

    If not, it’s as you say — gotta know when to throttle back to be a good dps. :]

    January 12, 2010 at 12:44

  5. Droog of Hydraxis

    I was very excited when I read this post. I have also switched my off-spec from Arms to Fury since 3.3 dropped and my first impressions are very encouraging.

    After regemming (+STR after capping Hit and Exp)only, no new gear, I’m seeing 1-1.5k dps improvement, more on multiple mobs, less on single bosses.

    But you’re right, I was also dying more, and I’m working to bring that down.

    I look forward to hearing about your transition progress, especially your likes and dislikes.

    Droog, of Hydraxis

    January 13, 2010 at 12:35

  6. Best. Picture. Ever!

    January 15, 2010 at 16:35

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 45 other followers