Your big beautiful beefy bulwark of badass.

Revenge of the fuzzy kitten


Yes, Gentle Readers, someday I will get back to solid, practical posting on warriors and whatnot.  But after being repeatedly kicked in the mental nuts by Real Life over the past couple weeks, today is not that day.  Instead, have a funny story from The Anvil’s Ulduar-25 last night.

I was the main tank.  So you could say I was a bit of a stress puppy, because that’s how I am (as I tell my wife, it’s part of my endearing charm, dammit).  We’d gotten through Flame Leviathan, XT, Auriaya, Hodir, and Thorim, and with a few minutes left before stop time, we went back to clean up Ignis.

So there I was, tanking Ignis around in a little triangle, leaving scorch spots on the ground for the construct tanks.  We were just tra-la-la-ing along, and then…I died.

Me dying on some content is not unusual, but on Ignis?  That wasn’t supposed to happen.

See, I have this pocket disc priest, Regatta, who is so good she smells like awesome wrapped in bacon.  Seriously.  When Reggie’s around, I don’t worry about my health, at all.  I’ll get a heal or a bubble exactly when and where I need it; if the situation is salvageable, she’ll salvage it.  She is a wicked good tank healer, and she was assigned to me for Ignis.  And yet there I was in the Sprawl of Shame(tm), in the middle of a Scorch patch.

So the rest of the raid cleaned up Ignis and then Reggie started apologizing profusely on Vent…something to the effect of, “Lin, I’m so sorry, my kitten just killed you.”

*blink*  “Uh…what?”

See, Reggie has a new kitten.  Her (yes, her) name is Radical Edward.  Radical Edward, being a kitten, gets into everything.  So it turns out that mid-Ignis-fight, Radical Edward climbed a nearby lamp and started playing with the lampshade.  Reggie tried to remove her from the lampshade.  Radical Edward, taking offense, proceeded to jump on Reggie’s head, knock her glasses off her face, and start dancing.

While she was healing me, she suddenly had a kitten doing a Mexican hat dance, with claws, on her exposed head, dangerously close to her eyes.  There was shrieking and flailing and flying kitten.  And when she could look back down, there was dead Panzercow.

I still love me some Regatta, and I still love me some fuzzy kitten.  But I am going to suggest that maybe she needs to wear safety goggles and a hard hat for the raid tonight…

10 responses

  1. regpriest

    My other option is to lock her in the bathroom with Spike so that they can take each other out Thunderdome Style.
    Two cats enter.
    One cat leaves.
    But only after raid is over.
    And holy ego boost!!! <3

    August 21, 2009 at 11:06

  2. I have a “Cat-Activated Ulduar Hard Mode” myself. This means that either my cat is sitting in my lap going /softpaw at my face, eating my headset cord, eating my mic, OR she is pacing back and forth in front of my keyboard.

    /facepalm

    August 21, 2009 at 11:07

  3. Oh my god.

    Reggie, HOW CAN YOU BE THIS AWESOME AND NOT LIVE IN MY STATE?

    First we find out you love Great Big Sea.

    Now you’ve not only named your kitten Radical Edward, but you already have a Spike?

    /asplodes

    August 21, 2009 at 11:30

  4. Zalgosh

    I too approve of the choice of pet names.

    /awesomesauce

    August 21, 2009 at 15:23

  5. I would like to point out, that I HAD to mention the kitten. Reggie was talking in another channel about kitten fail and I had to know the details.

    August 21, 2009 at 17:57

  6. Tarq

    At this juncture, I feel like you need to rename the kitten Vicious.

    August 22, 2009 at 14:55

  7. At this point, I feel I have to second Regatta’s healy awesomeness; she kept me alive during an emergency beartank on the last boss of heroic Gun’drak. In cat spec, in cat gear. For as long as it took for our two remaining DPS to get him down. ‘Cause she is Just That Good.

    (I have bragged on this before. I will brag on this again.)

    August 23, 2009 at 15:08

  8. Ladies and gentlemen, I present Ignis: the first WoW boss to discover the flying Fan of Knives kitten RL exploit for downing raid parties.

    August 27, 2009 at 10:00

  9. Well, considering Ed’s penchant for anything technical, this does not surprise me. You now need a Welsh Corgi, though.

    Because Ein is the bomb.

    My 2 yen,

    Akiosama

    August 31, 2009 at 15:11

  10. pl

    Haha. Just came across this site, good read.

    September 7, 2009 at 07:30

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 44 other followers