Your big beautiful beefy bulwark of badass.

Swamp of Sorrows was merely a setback


HELL.  FUCKING.  YES.

She has lurked in her lair and done battle with the many brave adventurers who travelled to that familiar location over the years. Now, in honor of the World of Warcraft 5-year anniversary, the dreaded brood mother Onyxia is being revamped to make a return to the forefront of Azeroth, as part of our big plans for the upcoming 3.2.2 content patch.

This permanent update to Onyxia will convert the dungeon into 10- and 25-player modes. We will be adding new items to Onyxia’s loot table that have the same model as some of the classic loot from this dungeon, like Tier 2 helms, with stats updated to match the current level of content. There will be a special new item too: a normal drake-sized 310% speed flying mount modeled after Onyxia herself called an Onyxia Broodling. We will also be updating the encounter mechanics to be more fitting for modern raiding, but we can guarantee players will get to experience the frightening horror of deep breaths once again.

The first time I ever ran with an Onyxia raid, it was the scariest, most amazing experience I’d ever been a part of in World of Warcraft.  It’s still right up there at the top over three years later.  If you didn’t play back when Ony was end-game content, you missed something pretty special.  The old girl was hard.  I mean, wipe-all-night hard.  But more than that, the feel of the fight was just incredibly epic.  This humongous dragon flying around dropping firebombs everywhere, clouds of whelps eating everybody’s face, the third phase of the fight where she’s fear-bombing and the floor’s shaking and lava is spewing out of cracks and the sound is deafening…daaaamn.  It was amazing.

You have no idea how happy I am Blizzard’s going to dust off Lady Prestor and make her back into the bitch she’s meant to be.

AFTER-THE-FACT EDIT:  Thanks to Spinks for pointing out that I got my swamps mixed up.  Too late to change the title now, so I’ll just have to save face by claiming I did it for the alliteration and hope that y’all buy my line of bullshit.

9 responses

  1. Dustwallow Marsh :)

    But yeah, this is really cool. I also remember the first time we killed Onyxia in a 40 man raid, we all (ie. all 40 of us) roleplayed marching through Stormwind with the head afterwards.

    August 13, 2009 at 00:55

    • Now see, as many times as I killed the old biddy (and died to her), you think I’d remember which swamp she lived in. :( That’s what I get for stealing the line from a guildie without fact-checking it first.

      And yes! One of the greatest things about killing Onyxia was marching through Orgrimmar or Stormwind afterward to deliver the head and receive the amazing buff. After the first couple of kills, we gave up on the RP march and the head-owner just hang onto the big, rotting, bleeding thing until it was time for us to raid her again…then we’d all gather, the head would be turned in, we’d get the buff, and we’d high-tail it down to Brackenwall and GO GO GO to get in and get as many chances as we could before it wore off. :)

      August 13, 2009 at 06:36

  2. I don’t know if Lady Prestor will return, but I would be tickled pink if she did. I liked her so much that I modeled my warlock after her (not consciously, but at some point I realized that I did).

    I suspect they’re experimenting: does revamped old world content really have as great a draw as so many vocal commenter have said it would? If we turn out for this, it might mean more ambitious revamps of former endgame content.

    Naturally, I had to go watch this to celebrate.

    August 13, 2009 at 01:39

    • I think good revamped old-world content can draw. Onyxia is the type of content that’s always called out for a freshening. You could make, say, heroic Mauradon (shudder) and it would be a waste of effort because, let’s face it, Mauradon is a giant festering ball of suck. But the original epic dragon battle, one that is going to seriously resonate with us old-timers who’ve been there and done that? I can see that being worth the effort.

      August 13, 2009 at 06:46

  3. I don’t know that we’ll see many other old-world raids being re-done; Onyxia’s Lair is different in that it’s pretty much a one-room instance, so there’s pretty much just the boss to re-balance for 10- and 25-mans. The other raids are a lot bigger (which goes against Blizz’s current trend of bite-sized raiding), with a lot more work required for all the trash and bosses (probably too much work for the return they’d get from it).

    August 13, 2009 at 02:52

  4. August 13, 2009 at 10:04

  5. Oh, I am so up for this. Whooo!

    August 13, 2009 at 10:24

  6. Copernicus

    I wonder if the entrance will be in the Temple next to Sartharion.

    August 13, 2009 at 12:29

  7. Considering that I just recently “soloed” (well, it was two-man, and my Feral Druid buddy was there to get me into the instance and healed me only slightly during Phase 2) Onyxia on my Heroic-geared 80 DK, I’d love to see her get re-vamped. Screams of “That’s a 50 DKP minus!”, “More DoTs!”, “Whelps! Handle them!” and “WTF?!?!” always go through my head now with every mention of Onyxia, and I’d love a chance to see it back to a real challenge.

    And for what it’s worth, I was pretty proud of that Onyxia run, since I downed her in less than 10 min.

    My 2 yen,

    Akiosama
    (who now has a 20 Prot Warrior, thanks to Linedan’s guide, and is loving every minute of it!)

    August 14, 2009 at 16:28

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 44 other followers