Your big beautiful beefy bulwark of badass.

Inspiration


I’ve been writing Achtung Panzercow for about seven months now.  I started it just for fun, and honestly, that’s why I still do it.  I’ve done paid freelance writing in the past, years ago, in the flight simulation area; I wrote some stuff for Happy Puppy’s website in its infancy, and for an aborted start-up online flight sim magazine back around 2000.  But this, nah, no pay here.  This is just a labor of love, just me writing for the heck of it and hoping that I get an occasional ego massage or head pat, that people find my spewings entertaining, educational, or both.  I talk about prot warrior things, I talk about my raid, I post silly cheesecake pictures of my female alts, I just let fly with whatever enters my head.  It’s not always easy for me to grind out content; as you may have noticed, things have been a bit thinner of late because real life is curbstomping me pretty hard right now.  But I do try.

I don’t know whether I’m doing it “right” or not, but looking at the built-in stats on WordPress tell me that something seems to be happening.  I’ve had about 21,000 pageviews since last December, and tend to average around 200 a day.  That’s small potatoes when you compare it to the real heavy hitters of the WoW blog world, but that’s not the circle I’m trying to run in.  I’ll probably never be a Big Red Kitty or a Matticus, and that’s fine with me.

Still…I can’t be the only blogger who looks at his hit counter and wonders if people are actually reading the blog.  Commenters are a very small percentage of readers, that’s a given.  I see hits flow in constantly on things like So You Want to Be a Prot Warrior and occasionally ponder if people actually read and use what I’ve written.  Is Achtung Panzercow just a random link somebody clicks on page 4 of a Google search for “hot Tauren action,” or did somebody actually find what they were looking for here, whatever that may be?

Hit counters and stats pages tell you numbers, but they don’t tell you the stories behind the numbers, as it were.  There’s ways I could jack up my pageviews, I’m quite sure…hell, I don’t know, maybe stick meta tags for “naked lesbian draenei” all over the place, that should do it.  But what’s the point, if the people just look at the page for two seconds, say “oh, a game blog, that’s not what I wanted, and where’s the naked lesbian draenei anyway?”, and then hit “back”?

Sometimes, even with the reinforcement of “hey, you get 300 pageviews on a good day!”, it can feel like shouting into the void.  Is anybody reading?  Does anybody care?  Why am I putting forth all this effort on my (or my employer’s) time if it’s just flying off into the depths of the intertubes?

And then you get an email in your inbox that answers all those questions and more.  This showed up in my gmail a couple days ago, and it’s reprinted here with permission:

Hopefully the title didnt make you think that this mail was spam *smiles*. I just wanted to drop you a quic [sic] line and say thank you for writing your blob [sic], im sure you get messages like this all the time (silly fan boys). The reason for my thanks is because i started one of these myself a long time ago, and it got very neglected. Then one evening while randomly searching the interwebs I came across yours. Its made me go back to mine and actually give it some love that was long overdue.

Thanks again and I love your style of writing, never change.
If you ever get the the time its http://ujarak.wordpress.com/

Ujarak Ragetotem.

Holy.  Shit.  (That is, by the way, the first “fan” letter I’ve ever gotten.)

I sat and read that email over a couple of times and it kind of stunned me.  Somebody does read this thing, and not only that, it’s inspired them to pick up their own blog and get it going again.  Wow.  And he’s doing a very good job at it, may I add–go check it out and give him some love.

I’ve also gotten a couple of comments on SYWTBAPW, about how people have actually followed it and are having fun leveling up their Prot warriors and learning to tank, and that floors me too.  In case you haven’t figured it out, I’m a little passionate about Linedan and warriors and tanking.  I’ve played a warrior in WoW more than all other classes combined.  I’ve played a Prot warrior in vanilla, in BC, and in Lich King, and I absolutely adore playing Linedan nowadays, even with all the problems that Prot warriors still have.  I like seeing people become interested in playing the class and spec, and more importantly, learning to play it well.  It’s not a faceroll-easy class to learn, and I’m very happy that people are finding my guides useful (and that I’m not totally full of shit on some of the things I suggest!).

So if you have blogs or authors that you find inspiring, that make you think or laugh or even get you mad, tell them.  Knowing that what we’re doing is actually reaching and connecting with readers gives us the inspiration to keep going and produce more and better content.  And when that happens, everybody wins.

14 responses

  1. <3

    Aren't fan letters awesome?!?

    I rely on you to make my prot warrior not suck, when Josh is tired of answering my questions. :)

    July 24, 2009 at 11:27

  2. I find it really difficult to post regularly on my blog. Since I don’t know what to say, I dont post. Most of what I post is ramblings anyway. So a big CONGRATS Lin !!! I’ve found your serie on Prot warrior really interesting. Make me wish I could find a subject like that to write about. ;)

    Keep up the good work !!!

    July 24, 2009 at 13:39

  3. It’s always nice to get those comments/emails from your readers. I stumbled upon your website because I was looking for information on Protection Warriors. I stumbled upon your guide. I really enjoy the series, and it definitely has helped out Aiyanna, my lowbie protection warrior tremendously. It’s definitely important to recognize people, which is why I linked to your blog/series in one of my posts.

    Keep up the excellent work.

    I’m write for a couple online websites and a few print magazines.`

    July 24, 2009 at 13:43

  4. Excellent post. I’ve been running my site since late March and, although I have a few regular commenters, I still wonder how many people are actually reading what I write.

    You do great work. Keep it up.

    July 24, 2009 at 14:07

  5. doubledtrouble

    And now you know how I felt when I discovered that you – and others – actually sat down eagerly to read the fiction I write. Quite often, you forget that you have an audience when you’re writing stuff, and it can be a nice treat to get positive feedback.

    And yes, I do read your site quite often, even if I don’t comment often. Should I ever get a wild hair and decide to start a baby warrior, I’ll likely use your guides…they’re amazingly well-presented. You tell people *why* they need to take certain talents without devolving into the minutiae of theorycrafting like some sites do.

    Well done, my friend…bravo.

    July 24, 2009 at 16:06

  6. ujarak

    Hehe my 30 seconds of fame. Just wanted to say, I’m glad i could help you realise that peopel actually do read your blog, and im happy that i beat myself up for about 20 minutes wondering weather i should send that E-mail or not. I wasnt sure if there was any point or if you would ever read it / care about it. Keep up the good work!

    July 24, 2009 at 18:30

  7. Gheshin

    Brand new to WoW, I started off my warrior with very little idea of what I was doing. Hit 20 and realised it might be wise not to just randomly put points in talents. I looked on the web and got a lot of advice to spec Fury to level, so I did. I didn’t like it. My warrior was in an unhappy place.

    Then I found SYWTBAPW. I dinged 30 and re-specced to Prot. I’ve been there ever since – following along with your posts. I’ve just dinged 80 having protted all the way.

    I now have toons of just about every class, but I still love my prot war most of all. Thanks for your guide – without it I may have abandoned a fury warrior in his twenties and been a warlock instead (I still am a warlock, just on the side).

    I’m gearing up for Heroics, and checking back here every day for a new post in the series (I’m seriously thinking of dualing prot/prot at some point).

    Gheshin, Saurfang

    July 25, 2009 at 19:42

  8. I very much suspect the stat counters are WordPress’s idea of psychological torture. It’s horribly like when you get a text from the Currently Desired Object and you’re like “Hmmm… they had a lovely time, what does lovely mean in this context. And they’ve signed off with an ‘x’ – is that a good sign or a mere typo?” Or maybe that’s just me and a tendency to over-analyse everything, and angst about it. But, seriously, those stats, they go up and down, up and down, somedays you’re are BELOVED BY ALL and others you are CAST INTO OUTER DARKNESS AND NOBODY CARES. And it’s all extremely stressful :)

    So I’m training to myself to stop looking, and definitely stop thinking.

    Writing a blog is a peculiar exercise. I, too, am never going to be a heavy hitter – mainly, I suspect, because I write absolutely nothing useful :) But it’s genuinely extremely pleasing to know that people read and gain *something* (whatever that may be) from what you’ve written.

    But I just wanted to say that I read your blog regularly, I enjoy it very much, I don’t comment enough (and shall aim to recify) – and your “So you want to be a prot warrior” guides are without a shadow of a doubt splendid. They are the first place I direct fledgling tanks :)

    July 26, 2009 at 09:52

  9. I find I get most of my visitors via random search terms. I try and use informative post titles instead of ‘An update’ as these seem to be more easily found.

    I also comment on other peoples blogs and a few forums such as plusheal.com. This also seems to help get the word out ;-)

    Gobble gobble

    PS I love your domain name. Wish i’d called my tauren prot warrior Panzercow!

    July 26, 2009 at 19:19

    • We usually just call Lin a coat rack

      July 28, 2009 at 17:23

  10. shadedpath

    I don’t have a warrior and never plan on one but I like to laugh at teh funneh and say “I knew him when…”

    Linedan was the main tank of the raid I ran when we were all starting over in our greens and blues and Karazhan was hot shit. That man can tank.

    July 29, 2009 at 12:00

  11. Suganips

    First off, I love your blog! I found your website by accident through a friend’s blog who writes about rogues (no clue where the connection lies), but believe it or not: it made me want to level a warrior. I have followed your guide to the letter and it has been fun from the start. I got lucky and found a guildmate that had his alt-priest at almost the exact same level and percentage in the 30s as I did and we have been tearing things apart ever since.
    We just recently ran Uldaman on level with alts of fellow guildies. Now, we are all decked out in BoA’s so it made it a lot easier, but our guild leader deliberately tried make my tanking life hell. It was a challenge, but I prevailed :-)

    Thanks so much for your work on your website. It is very entertaining to read. This is to tell you, there are people out there that not only click through the pages but actually read and digest what you write. Keep it up

    Suganips, Mug’thol (US)

    August 3, 2009 at 15:26

  12. I found you through my son (my favorite Prot Warrior of all time. Mostly cuz he keeps me alive in instances, being priest tartar is no walk in the park without him.)
    I wanted to learn how to better keep him alive and he suggested your Care and feeding of your prot warrior series which I loved. I think I’ve read it at least three times now and only commented this last time.
    Your entertaining, informative and darn right personable. I’m off to read your guide next. I have a new alt in mind, a future PW.
    Thanks for writing. I hope you keep at it.

    August 27, 2009 at 10:59

  13. Flowersz

    Just to let you know, I really like your stuff. keep going….

    For some double dumb reason it wasn’t on my reader list, double double dumb to the power of double!

    Oh, and I’m a resto shammy just so’s you know it aint all tin cans reading your blog.

    September 30, 2009 at 08:05

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 44 other followers