Your big beautiful beefy bulwark of badass.

Of unicorns and other imaginary things


See that right there?  That, my friends, is the Commendation of Kael’thas.  Back during the last part of Burning Crusade, this little trinket was the shizzle if you were a tank that, like me, had no real hope of seeing Sunwell or even much of Black Temple.  +57 stamina?  Awesome.  And look at all that automatic emergency ass-saving dodge!  I literally can’t count how many times this thing kept me alive when things went pear-shaped.

I got that on my first run into heroic Magister’s Terrace, believe it or not.  (Yes, that’s it, drink the tasty Haterade, peeps.)  And it was my constant tanky companion through Serpentshrine Cavern and Tempest Keep.  It was awesome to be rocking one of these back then.

When you’re offtanking Ulduar 25-man?  Not.  So.  Freaking.  Much.

My wife knows that if she wants to hear me rant, all she’s got to do is mention the words “tank trinket” and then dive behind the sofa.  Trinkets for raid-geared plate tanks are hard as hell to find.  There’s the Seal of the Pantheon from Halls of Lightning, of course, which is generally considered to be a necessary “entry-level” trinket just because of the massive +65 defense rating (Lin’s still wearing one, because stacking +defense is actually quite effective).  But getting into Naxx, well, there isn’t much.  There’s the Repelling Charge from Thaddius on 10-man…assuming you’re in a 10-man that can get to Thaddius, which I wasn’t for quite a while, and that it drops, which I’ve only seen once in 4+ months.  There’s the Defender’s Code, which is more of a druid trinket with the static +850 armor and the on-demand hefty +dodge, but doesn’t have any +stamina.  The badge trinket, the Valor Medal of the First War…again, all +dodge, and no stamina.

Which is why, weeks into Ulduar 25, with every other piece of Linedan’s gear at ilevel 200 or higher, he was running around with a damned item level 115 level 70 trinket still firmly glued into his first trinket slot.  Because tank trinket upgrades, like unicorns, leprechauns, and politicians that actually want to cut government spending, don’t really exist.  They’re just imaginary figures.

Until last night.

I’d like to thank Captain Crotchpocket, aka Ignis the Furnace Master, for supplying me with this lovely little item, the Heart of Iron.  Yep, that’s right, kids, that’s not a misprint…one hundred and sixty-two points of tasty, tasty stamina.  1717 health off one trinket, and some emergency dodge thrown in. 

Linedan now has almost 32,000 unbuffed health, and with full 25-man raid buffs is up over 41,000, competitive with our other two raid tanks.  And y’know, it still doesn’t feel like enough on some fights.  I’m beginning to wonder if Ulduar is harkening back to the Burning Crusade days where if you were a warrior, there was only one gem you ever put in your gem slots unless you had to activate a meta–stamina uber alles.  It seems that Ulduar is all about BIG NUMBERS…even the trash routinely spanks a pimped-out tank for well into five digits per hit.

Lin’s now one belt away from the Epic achievement.

It felt good to see the Anvil get back out of the ditch and put the hammer down last night.  Loot Leviathan, Razorscale, Ignis, XT, and Kologarn all went down without too much fuss.  Now we’re working on Auriaya, the Crazy Cat Lady.  And all I have to say about that fight is, now I think I know what a yarn ball feels like.

10 responses

  1. Kansin

    Its been all about stamina for the whole time. KT, Sarth3d, Malygos… They all do big damage quickly. Stacking avoidance on those fights means you live 90% of the time, but that 10%? Yeah, good luck.

    As a healer, I hate healing avoidance tanks. “Nothing, nothing, nothing, nothing, OH SHIT, nothing nothing nothing.” I’d rather have a constant stream of damage that I can deal with. Stacking effective health does that. Stacking avoidance causes healer boredom. Healer boredom cause wipes. Don’t let it happen to you.

    May 29, 2009 at 18:21

    • I split the middle on stamina vs. avoidance, although I’m shifting more toward stamina (unbuffed dodge under 24%, parry 18.43%, block just under 20%). This is definitely going to be fodder for a future blog post, though, because I understand what you’re saying and want to hear what other healers and tanks think about it too.

      June 1, 2009 at 22:32

  2. Dammit, I want one of those things, but I just don’t raid on the night that we’re killing Ignis (or you know, Flame Leviathan).

    Grats man. That thing is full of sweetness.

    May 29, 2009 at 19:22

  3. Always fun to read your posts. Now that the gratuitous compliment is out of the way, get back to finishing that next tanking guide installment.

    June 1, 2009 at 15:54

    • I’m working on it, I’m working on it! Sheesh, darn DKs, always wanting to pull before the warrior’s ready… :)

      June 1, 2009 at 22:20

  4. Tigerfeet

    Now why don’t you have an Essence of Gossamer? Granted, Heroic AN can be a bit of a pain, but… it’s got all that stam you want!

    June 1, 2009 at 21:27

    • I forgot about the Essence until after I put the post up, and didn’t have time to go back and edit it in. Oddly enough, his current combination of the Heart of Iron and the Seal of the Pantheon gives a decent balance of sheer stamina and avoidance. He can afford to ditch the 13 defense he’d lose by giving up the Seal, yeah (he’s got 562 now), but I like to try and steer something of a middle course in the avoidance vs. stamina wars.

      June 1, 2009 at 22:29

  5. I’m ridiculously envious you got that trinket to drop. I’m still sporting the one from heroic AN when I want a larger health pool. :P

    June 2, 2009 at 03:29

  6. Trijem

    Jewelcrafters can make a trinket with +62 sta and two slots, i.e. 2 x +41 sta gems = +144 sta on a blue trinket that you can equip at level 78. I usually wear that with the essence (+111 sta) for bosses.
    Oh, and avoidance can (!) be a blessing. I once tanked heroic patchwerk for the last 60% … solo. Granted I had 6 healers on me but you don’t see that everyday.

    June 12, 2009 at 09:54

  7. I replaced my JC trinket with the trinker from 10 man thaddius

    June 12, 2009 at 14:06

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 44 other followers