Your big beautiful beefy bulwark of badass.

Don’t panic, it’s temporary


So if you go to look at Linedan’s armory link in the next few days, don’t freak out.  I haven’t been hacked, and the Armory isn’t broken.

For a few days, the Panzercow…is DPScow.

Yep.  In the interest of trying out a potential Arms dual-spec come 3.1 (as I mentioned in a post a while back), I’ve shifted Linedan over to a 53/18/0 Arms build for a little while so I can try to learn how to play it.  Don’t worry, I’m not going anywhere as a tank.  Tanking is still my first love.  But in the interest of raid utility and general versatility (since we have a lot of good up-and-coming tanks in our circle of online friends), it makes sense for me to have my main have the option to deeps occasionally.  I don’t have anywhere near the gear for Fury, and Arms provides some raid utility, hopefully moreso in 3.1.  So, Arms is the plan, and I’m test-driving it now.

My first impression, from a single heroic Utgarde Keep run, is that I’m going to dub the 53/18/0 Arms build the “waiting for Godot” build.  I’m sitting there constantly waiting for something to happen.  Waiting for Taste for Blood to proc Overpower, waiting for Sudden Death to proc Execute, waiting to have enough rage to Mortal Strike, Slamming if nothing else is available…good grief.  I just thought Prot was reactive.  Arms is so much more reactive than Prot is, it’s scary.  Talk about worshipping at the Altar of the Random Number Generator, sheesh.  This is crazy.

BTW, my performance in that HUK run?  1250 dps, 2 stupid deaths due to agro yoinking.  If I was tanking, I’d have probably done 1250 dps and not died once.  Yep.  I’ve got a lot to learn, and a lot of gearing to do, to make this work.

And I’ve only got 21.8k health and 13.3k armor.  Sweet motherhumpin’ zombie Jesus, I’m squishy.

7 responses

  1. Yeah, I had the same omg-I’m-squishy when I switched from Feral to Balance and then Resto on my druid. It’s a feeling that takes some getting used to.

    (and I switched back to Feral after a few weeks…)

    March 22, 2009 at 02:18

  2. What are we doing?

    We’re waiting for Godot…

    (>.> wut? sorry I had to!)

    March 22, 2009 at 14:38

  3. Don’t forget that you’re actually even squishier thanks to Berserker stance.

    March 23, 2009 at 13:07

  4. Gala

    Too funny! It sounds like we switched roles… I just tried your Protection spec as a switchout from Arms. I have to say… I’m loving Prot, and I can’t help feeling that all the angst you are having is what I’m leaving behind for Prot.

    DPS certainly no lower, I’m losing tons less health when I get beaten on, and the stam pool has grown significantly.

    See you back on Prot in a week! Thanks for the pointers!

    March 23, 2009 at 16:35

  5. Klube–I’m really not used to pulling agro and then dropping like Paris Hilton’s underwear. Seriously. 24k health buffed and I die if something looks at me funny? This is still plate I’m wearing and not pie tins with happy-face skulls drawn on them, right?

    Tarsus–actually, if I’m reading the guides right, I’ll be spending most of my time in Battle Stance, not Berserker. Overpower is a key component of the build and that’s Battle only; otherwise I have to stance-dance and dump all but 25 rage to use it. Maybe near the end of a boss fight I’d go Berserker and spam Executes or something. Unlike my Blood DK, this is one setup that will NOT give good results by facerolling. I squeezed out 1900 dps on a Mal’ganis fight last night, so maybe that’s a better indicator of how I’d do on a raid.

    Gala–welcome to the Tanky Side! Prot post-3.0 is extremely good and a lot of fun. I’m glad the guide’s useful, the next parts of it are coming soon.

    March 23, 2009 at 17:12

  6. Oh, hi there! Welcome to being plate DPS. It feels a lot like being not-plate DPS; don’t let the armor and health fool you.

    I rolled Arms on the tourney realm, because I felt like crippling my team by playing a class AND spec I’ve never played before trying something new, and an Arms Warrior seemed about as far from a Blood DK as I could possible get. I know what you mean about the waiting – there’s a ton of it. Waiting on Executes, waiting on Overpower, waiting on … well, everything.

    It’s fun, but it’s even more incentive to go Prot in the ‘real world’ realms.

    March 23, 2009 at 17:20

    • I miss everything about Prot. Yeah, the occasional 7k Execute crit is nice…but I could do 6k+ with a Shield Blocked Shield Slam crit. Bladestorm is pretty fun…when it doesn’t pull agro off the tank and get me killed, or get me tagged as “the ROFLcopter.” My wife asked me about something on our CoS run last night and I had to reply, “I couldn’t see, I was too busy staring at my (#*&$@(* bar waiting for something to come off cooldown.”

      I miss my survivability, I miss my multiple interrupts, I miss my multiple stuns, and I miss the holy frrpin’ crap out of Warbringer. I seriously think this experiment may end early…and I just go back Prot and wait for 3.1 to actually hit before picking up and playing with the Arms dual spec.

      Besides, I can always work on my DK for plate DPS. Hey, if I can take her into Utgarde Keep at 71 and still do 750 dps in her crappy green gear? There’s hope.

      If Prot could generate any decent amount of rage without tanking and thus allow more specials, I wouldn’t even dual spec. I wouldn’t need to. But then it’d be too overpowered.

      March 23, 2009 at 18:35

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 45 other followers